Skip to content

Roasted Spaghetti Squash

March 29, 2012

I had high hopes last week for adding a number of new recipes, as I had March break off with the kids. As it turned out, the kids seemed to take up most of the time, 32+203+

Sorry those numbers were Ollie’s contribution to the blog. Anyway, more kids, less cooking and blogging last week. And probably today. But I thought I’d add this until I have time for something more substantial. It’s easy, simple, and delicious, a wonderful vegetable side dish that goes well with all sorts of meals. I’ve been thinking of ways to dress this up a little, either moving in a sweet direction with some maple syrup, or going savoury with some herbs or balsamic vinegar. Feel free to try things out, but it’s really good just like this.

Roasted Spaghetti Squash

1/2 spaghetti squash, about 1 lb.
about 2 tbsp olive oil, or try using melted butter for a richer flavour
salt & freshly-ground pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the squash in half length-wise. Use a spoon to scoop out the seeds and pulp. Brush with olive oil or butter; season with salt and pepper. Place on a baking pan skin-side down and bake until the top is just starting to brown. That should be between 30-40 minutes, as I recall.

2. Use a spoon to make very shallow scrapes, scooping out the squash in strands, much like spaghetti–thus the name, I assume. Bon appetit!

From → Recipes

7 Comments
  1. Michael MacISAAC permalink

    My kids loved eating this from the time they could eat food. We actually served this with spaghetti sauce among other things.

    • Spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce, I’ll have to try it. Sounds good actually.

      With our kids I think we’re batting about .250 right now. The 9-year-old plain doesn’t like it, and the 18-month-old has enjoyed it once, thrown it on the floor once. I think they both like things better with spaghetti sauce.

  2. Just occurred to me that these would make awesome bowls, either for a soup, or a vegetable ragout. Experimentation + blog post to follow, rest assured….

  3. This is really yummy if you make your own version of Chef Michael Smith’s “hidden vegetable tomato sauce” and serve that over the spaghetti squash strands and sprinkle with grated cheese (I hate parmesan, so usually use cheddar or mozzarella). It makes a great meatless entree, although I find I need to eat a lot of it to be full!

  4. It’s my go-to when I am avoiding carbs. Love it with spaghetti sauce or chili. Or I could just eat the whole thing with lots of freshly ground pepper or chili pepper flakes…standing by the sink;-)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sweet & Sour Spare Ribs « Mussel Beach

Leave a Reply

