Skip to content

Yorkshire Pudding–Easy, Poofy, Delicious

April 8, 2012

I’ve been meaning for the past couple weeks now to start a .familyrecipes tag, and start documenting some of the dishes I’ve learned from some of the people to which I’m related. For the last several years I’ve been collecting these things. A few are recipes which have been in the family for generations. Others are just things certain people like to make, and make well, or dishes I remember from my childhood.

My father must have spent about 15 years trying to get Yorkshire puddings just right. In the early days, they all came out as hockey pucks. I didn’t mind. They tasted good, and I’d never had anyone else’s so I didn’t realize they were supposed to be any different.

Now that I think of it, it might possibly have been Mom who made the hockey pucks. Regardless, eventually Dad got it just right. So this Easter, when I bought my first-ever prime rib roast to prepare (I dreamed about it for two nights while it sat in the fridge), I had to make dad’s Yorkshire puddings. Technically, I got these from sister. Dad may yet have a few more pointers to offer when I next speak with him. But these were pretty good. His rise up even poofier. You’ll notice from the picture there could have been more of them. In fact there were more than enough to feed the four of us, but next time I’ll expand the recipe.

Teresa thought this whole preparation was a little bizarre. I didn’t understand all of it, I just did what my sister told me because the hockey pucks lasted years, and when these were produced it was a tremendous revelation, and I wasn’t about to risk setting the family back to the puck era again.

Yorkshire Pudding

1 cup flour
1 cup milk
3 eggs
non-stick cooking spray or shortening

1. Start the prep about an hour before you intend to put these in the oven, which you should set at 450. Sift the flour into a mixing bowl. Gradually pour in the milk, whisking as you go. Add the eggs and whisk again. Transfer it all into a blender and give it a good mix. The batter is going to sit there in the blender for about an hour, and you should give it a quick re-blend about every 15 minutes. This is what Teresa found a little odd.

2. When it’s almost time, stick your muffin tin in the oven until it’s good and hot, then take it out and spray it with non-stick spray. Better yet, spread it with shortening because these still stuck a little to our old pan. Give the batter one last blend, then pour into the muffin holes. I poured mine about three-quarters the way up each, and with these proportions I got seven puddings. The more the merrier.

3. Transfer to your 450-degree oven and cook for 15 minutes. Do not open the oven door to check on them or they will likely deflate. We got rather lucky, our oven light is burnt out so we couldn’t see if they were done, just pulled them out after 15 minutes and they were about perfect. Slather with the drippings from your prime rib (or not, Teresa liked them with her salmon) and enjoy.

TIP: I’m wondering if a pinch of salt wouldn’t help them rise even more. Also, I think Dad uses a 500-degree oven. I’ll risk that once we’ve got the oven light replaced.

TIP: Next time I think I’ll probably try 1-1/2 cups each of flour and milk, and four eggs. The original recipe was actually for either 2 or 3 eggs, so adding one more should be enough to increase the yield by 50 per cent.

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Sue-On Hillman permalink

    Hi Kerry, Those look great! I make ” Nottinghamshire Yorkshire Puddings” I know…Nothinggham? The recipe is from my Yorkshire pal who got it from her aunt from Nothingham. I use 5 – 6 eggs, and about 1.5 cups flour to 1.5 cups milk. IK just beat the eggs, add the milk, mix well, then add the flour. Mine usually has a few little lumps. I usually make the batter up at least 2 hours ahead and just leave it on the counter.
    If I remember, I might add a couple tbsp olf melted beef fat.
    Whenever I order my prime rib, I always ask for a slab of fat on the side.
    I render the fat and keep it in the fridge or freezer. That’s what I put into my muffin tins,about 1.5 tsp in each. Put the tin in a 450 oven until it’s smoking. It WILL set off your smoke detector. LOL!
    When the tin is smoking hot, pour in the batter, from the center holes out. The batter should sizzle. Get the tin back in as soon as you can.
    Cook at 450 for 20-30 minutes, then reduce to 400 for another 15 to 20 minutes. Don’t peek! I know…”she’s crazy! They’ll be black!” But check out the ones on my food pages for February.
    This batter will make 12 – perfect for yourf muffin tin…and they keep well in the fridge or freezer.

    http://www.hillmanweb.com/soos/food/28.html

    Keep cooking!
    BTW…We`re enroute to Morgan City for a Tarzan Festival, then to New Orleans for food!

    • Those look delicious Sue-On. I truly can’t believe they cook that long though. I like the idea of adding beef fat. There’s nothing more delicious than the fat from prime rib….

      Can’t wait to hear about the food in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

