Skip to content

Sweet & Sour Spare Ribs

April 22, 2012

This recipe is simple, and I think, perfect. My mother always made this while I was growing up. I was a notoriously fussy eater and this was one of the few dishes guaranteed to be a hit in our household. As you might be able to tell from the picture, so far these ribs are going down well with the next generation.

Sweet & Sour Spare Ribs

Pork ribs (about 2 lbs or so I think, but I forgot to measure)
Salt and pepper, to taste
4 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp corn starch
1 tbsp soy sauce
3 heaping tbsp white sugar
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp white vinegar

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Season the ribs with salt and pepper and place them in a roasting pan. Cover and cook for about two hours. (The times and temperatures with this recipe are a bit of a work in progress. Generally, cooking ribs for longer times at lower temperatures yields better results.)

2. Meanwhile, whisk together the remaining ingredients in a bowl. Remove ribs from the oven after two hours. Increase temperature to 350 and pour sauce over ribs. Cover and cook another 30 minutes to an hour, (hopefully) until sauce has set. Remove and serve with rice. Roasted spaghetti squash would go nice with this as well.

TIP: My sauce didn’t quite set properly last time. Mom says that happens sometimes. I may have to fiddle with the times and temperatures some more. But if this happens to you, then just remove the ribs from the pan when they’re done, put the pan on the stovetop and turn the element on high. In a bowl, mix a teaspoon of cornstarch with about three tablespoons of water and mix that into the sauce and cook, like a gravy, until it’s thickened.

From → Recipes

6 Comments
  1. Margo Connors permalink

    hmmmm what would it be like with brown sugar? would it be too dark tasting?

    • I don’t think it’d be too dark. I’d give it a try, except I generally don’t mess with this recipe. This is the ultimate comfort food for me.

      • Margo Connors permalink

        i will do it straight, pardon the term, the first time. then maybe frig with the bs. yours is the basis of my sweet n sour so i wanna see the difference!

  2. Sue-On Hillman permalink

    Cornstarch slurry will often break down after setting, which may have happened in the oven. Those ribs look great! I’ve only recently started cooking ribs in a slow oven – lessons from my future son-in-law:-)

    • I didn’t know that about corn starch. Let us know what you learn in terms of slow-cooking the ribs. If I’m barbecuing I’ll often boil them first. Sounds a bit severe but produces nice results.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sweet & Sour Baked Salmon « Mussel Beach

Leave a Reply

