Skip to content
Tags

Here’s what you do with those leftover lobster shells

May 13, 2012

Wasn’t intending to blog Saturday’s dinner. We were celebrating Mother’s Day a day early, and you don’t make her sit around for ten minutes waiting to dig in while you try to adjust the lighting so you can take the perfect photo.

Anyway, I’ll have to make something like this again because it was definitely worth a post. Picked up a little canner lobster from a fisherman from Souris who, after spending the morning pulling his traps, loaded up the truck full of live lobster on ice and drove to the University Ave. Petro Canada here in Charlottetown. Lord I love this place.

Anyway, just one little canner to split between us, so I decided to make lobster and shrimp ravioli. And I just want to share a few notes on this sauce so I don’t forget, and so you can try it if you like before I make it again and document it properly (we will definitely have this again at least once before lobster season is through).

Cook your lobster, remove the meat, break up the shell and put the pieces in a large dutch oven. I threw in the shrimp shells as well, and a bay leaf or two. I added two cups of white wine, next time I think I’ll use the whole bottle. Simmer until the wine has reduced by about half. Strain. Fancy people would strain with a piece of cheesecloth, don’t tell Teresa but I didn’t do this.

I sautéd my shrimp in a little olive oil with a shallot and a few cloves of garlic. Remove the shrimp when they’re done, and add 3-4 tbsp butter (a rare indulgence for us). Once that has melted, add maybe 1-1/2 tbsp flour to make a roux. Throw in a couple tablespoons of tomato paste. Add your wine reduction to this a bit at a time, stirring to keep it thickening. I think it was at this point I chopped up a tbsp or so of fresh tarragon, finish this with as much cream as seems necessary. I had to thin it out a little with milk, I would rather have had some fish stock or more wine on hand for this.

Throw in some chopped up shrimp and lobster meat and serve with whatever kind of pasta you choose. I don’t think I usually brag about my cooking but this was really, really good!

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

