Skip to content

Pizza with Portobello, Goat Cheese & Black Garlic Pesto

September 29, 2012

So with this one bulb of black garlic to try out, I decided to make a pesto for pizza night. As Angela has pointed out, this is fermented, not smoked. It ends up with a very sweet flavour. And while black garlic I think sometimes maintains a garlic-like consistency, this stuff from PEI comes out of the clove as a paste.

I decided to go with flat-leaf parsley instead of basil for the pesto, in order not to overpower the garlic. I also went with walnuts instead of pine nuts, just for an “earthier” flavour.

The results were quite acceptable. It’s a very mild pesto. I’ll definitely be looking for more black garlic in the future.

Portobello goat cheese and black garlic pesto pizza slice

Pizza with Portobello, Goat Cheese and Black Garlic Pesto

For the pesto:
1/3 cup walnut pieces
about 2 cups flat-leaf parsley, loosely packed
1 bulb black garlic
1/2 cup olive oil
salt and pepper
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

For the pizza:
pre-made pizza shell or 1/2 lb. pizza dough
1 tbsp or so olive oil
2 portobello mushrooms, sliced
1 shallot, sliced
2 tbsp capers
about 1-1/2 oz. crumbled goat cheese (roughly 1/4 of a packet)
about 1/4 cup grated Parmesan

1. Preheat oven to 450°. If you’re using fresh dough, pound, roll or toss it out. Put it on an oiled baking sheet and bake for about five minutes. You want to pull it out just before bits are starting to brown.

2. Make the pesto: pulse the walnut pieces 2-3 times in a food processor. Add the parsley and garlic and pulse until it forms a dry paste, scraping down the sides as necessary. Gradually add the olive oil as you continue to pulse. Season with salt and pepper, add the Parmesan and give it a final mix.

3. Warm the olive oil in a sauté pan over medium-high heat. Add the portobello and shallot and cook, stirring, for about two minutes, just to give it a good head start. Remove from heat.

4. Cover the pizza shell with pesto. This should only require about half of what you made, you can save the rest. Spread around the mushrooms and shallot. Do the same with the capers and the two cheese. Cook for about 8 minutes or until the goat cheese is nicely browning. Enjoy.

TIP: If you happen to have some truffle oil sitting around, do try a little on this pizza. I think Teresa and I are split on the results but I thought it really helped it out. Just don’t go crazy. Oh, and I wouldn’t normally have truffle oil just sitting around, but my wife loves me and buys me things.

From → Food, Recipes

4 Comments
  1. That is a pizza unlike any I’ve ever seen, which is why I like it 😀

  2. Thanks! Every Friday is pizza night and I do try to mix it up once in awhile. The kids always have some variation on Hawaiian, and my better half is a pescatarian so we’ve been having a lot of shrimp pizzas lately. This may have propelled me out of a shrimp pizza rut, if there is such a thing.

  3. I’ve never seen black garlic – sounds a little strange… but that never has stopped me before 🙂

Leave a Reply

