Skip to content

“Pie Pumpkin” Pie

October 8, 2012

We were at Balderston’s Market on Saturday and picked up a whole family of pumpkins, including a small, rough-skinned one marked as a “pie pumpkin,” which I’d never seen before. Teresa took that, baked it in the oven and eventually turned it into this delicious pie. She used less sweetener than I’m used to in a pumpkin pie, and it was better for that. The flavour of the “pie pumpkin” was more than sweet enough. And it had the best pie crust I’ve ever tasted (she said it was the best she’s ever made).

I have no idea what recipe she used. I don’t ask, or else I might be expected to help with the baking. But if you want to know, I’ll ask her.

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. You should let Teresa know that of all the 8 million pumpkin images on the internet right now, this was the one that stopped me. Looks great, and with less sweet, it sounds even better. Enjoy!

  2. Thanks, sorry I don’t have the recipe to share. If this photo is going to be attracting people, I’ll try to get her to divulge some details and share them here.

Leave a Reply

