Skip to content

Creamy Wasabi Cole Slaw

January 1, 2014

I’ve never really enjoyed going out for New Year’s Eve. I don’t like crowds. I would rather attend something private, with close friends, or else stay home and spend the evening with those closest to me. Then go out a few weeks later, when there aren’t crazy crowds, you can actually get a cab, you get better food, better service, and it might even cost less.

I’m extremely fortunate that my wife is prepared to share these views. So I’ve decided if we’re going to stay in, we’ll do it with style. Lobster and champagne, that kind of style. This year I bought the two biggest lobsters I could find–2.5 lb. leviathans which I’m sure used to menace swimmers off the coast of Nova Scotia.

photo(6)To go with those beasts I came up with this recipe for cole slaw. Teresa declared it’s the best she’s ever had. You can vary the punch by playing with the amount of wasabi paste.

Creamy Wasabi Cole Slaw

1/2 cup salad dressing (or mayonnaise if you prefer)
6 tbsp rice vinegar
4 tbsp lemon juice
1-1/2 tbsp wasabi paste
2 tbsp white sugar
pepper
6 cloves garlic, mashed
about 1 lb. cole slaw greens (whichever you choose–cabbage, carrots, I used broccoli and bought it pre-shredded)
cilantro for garnish, if you like

1. Combine all the ingredients except the greens in a non-reactive bowl. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours to allow the flavours to meld. Then toss with the greens and serve.

wasabi cole slaw 2

From → Food, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

