Skip to content

Figs with Ricotta, Pistachios and Honey

March 8, 2014

This was part of our multi-course meal for Oscar night. We make a small production out of the Academy Awards every year. Sometimes we have people over, sometimes it’s just us. Teresa watches the red carpet and tweets on fashion. I’m happy to make myself busy in the kitchen trying to come up with elegant finger food. (I may also have snuck out for a soccer game during the red carpet this year).

I’m always looking for new recipes and ideas when it comes to finger food. Because of that, and because of an ongoing “use them or lose them” campaign involving my cookbook collection, I chose most of this year’s recipes from a magazine Teresa bought me for Valentine’s Day: Fine Cooking’s “Best Appetizers” edition.

This recipe is from that book, with my own little modifications. You could serve this as a dessert, or as a light, sweet middle course to cleanse the palate as I did.

I was surprised to find fresh figs at Sobey’s. I was also surprised to find how expensive they were. A little can go a long way with this, they’re actually quite filling.

IMG_4412

Figs with Ricotta, Pistachios and Honey

1-2 fresh figs per person (the recipe calls for dried, so you could use those)
unsalted, shelled pistachios
ricotta cheese
honey
ground cardamom

1. Toast the pistachios in a dry pan over medium-high heat, stirring frequently, until they’ve darkened, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat, allow them to cool and chop them.

2. Remove the stems from the figs, and cut each in half lengthwise. Arrange each one cut-side up on a serving plate. Cover with a generous spoonful of ricotta. Top with the pistachios, a generous amount of honey, and then sprinkle cardamom over all. Serve.

NOTE: I was preparing some balsamic reduction when I made these, and thought it might introduce a nice sweet/savoury element to substitute that in place of the honey. May try that next time. Might skip the cardamom if that’s the case.

figs

From → Food, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

