Skip to content

Turnip, Potato & Blue Cheese Soup

April 19, 2015

I remember when the Food Network was full of shows in which chefs actually tried to teach you how to cook at home. When it was more instruction than spectacle. I miss that channel.

The first time I had access to the Canadian version of the Food Network (which I understand differs from the network in the US), Emeril Lagasse was probably at the height of his popularity. It would have been just before they put him on a sitcom or whatever they did, for whatever reason only a television executive could fully understand.

Emeril’s schtick got old fast, and I was never a big fan of his “pile everything on top of everything else” style of plating, but he featured some great recipes on his show. When I was younger and a potato soup with breadhome-based freelance writer I could occasionally just turn on the tv at random times during the day and find some new recipes. Might have done a little too much of that come to think of it, which may be why I’m no longer a home-based freelance writer.

Anyway, it was during one of those times that I turned on Emeril, and I think I got my two favourite soup recipes of all-time from the same episode. Every time I’ve made this soup I’ve had to share the recipe. I know it’s become a staple for other people (like my sister, and possibly some folks from my B. Journalism program) and I love to think about recipes spreading this way, from person-to-person like word-of-mouth. From Emeril to me (and likely someone before him), to others and on and on, enriching people’s tables along the way.

You should check out the original here. It uses chicken stock, which I actually prefer, but this version is vegetarian-friendly. (Obviously, don’t sprinkle bacon over a vegetarian’s bowl. Unless they’re a bacotarian or whatever those people call themselves.) Emeril’s also had nothing to do with turnips, but that’s what I had in the pantry today.

potato soup overtop

Turnip, Potato & Blue Cheese Soup

3 tbsp buttercooking turnip
2 small-med onions, sliced
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 small turnip, peeled and cut into 3/4″ cubes
a bay leaf or two
salt and pepper
a small pinch of cayenne pepper
about 5 medium-size yellow-fleshed potatoes (like Yukon gold), about 2 lbs., peeled and cut into 3/4″ dice
5-6 cups vegetable stock (I always keep some extra just in case I need to thin the soup out)
generous 1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves, plus more for serving
a good glug of port (about 2 tbsp)
1/4 cup heavy cream
about 1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese, plus more for serving
around 3 slices cooked bacon, crumbled, for serving

1. Melt butter in a Dutch over over medium heat. Add onion and sauté until onions are browning and starting to caramelize, 8-10 mins. Add garlic and stir for add stockabout 30 seconds until fragrant. Add turnip, bay leaves, salt, pepper and cayenne and cooking, stirring occasionally, until the turnips have started to brown, about 5 mins. Add the potatoes and cook another five mins.

2. Add 5 cups of the stock and bring to a boil, then reduce and keep at a simmer for about 30 mins, until the turnips and potatoes are cooked. Remove from heat and allow to cool enough so you can pureé with an immersion blender (take the bay leaves out first). Return to heat. Add thyme, port and cream and stir. Once warm again, add the blue cheese and stir until it’s melted. Serve with more of the thyme, blue cheese and crumbled bacon.

potato soup angle

From → Food, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

