Skip to content

Crispy Beet & Sweet Potato Hash

May 1, 2016

This meal started off with a catfish fillet. I haven’t seen those sold on PEI in years. I like the meatier texture–it reminds me a bit of monkfish that way. Haven’t seen monkfish on PEI in years either.

So with catfish that doubles for monkfish, and the last pound of mussels they had at Mike’s Queen Street Meat Market (where I get all my mussels now; we’ll talk about Mike’s another time), I decided to make this curried monkfish with mussels recipe from Chef Ramsay. (Here’s my own variation on that using apples and fennel.)

I decided I wanted something different to go with this, which somehow turned into this very simple beet & sweet potato hash. Teresa was instrumental in helping me figure this out. My first batch I didn’t use flour, and the sugar from the beet just made the strands glom together. She suggested the flour. After I we began eating, she also decided the hash had to go on top of the fish and sauce. That had been my original plan, but I had changed my mind. It made all the difference, bringing out the crunchy texture and contrasting that with the fish. I don’t pay enough attention to texture in my meal planning.

Our salad was what’s become the house salad for us: this salad with roasted beet and goat cheese. I found some candied almonds on sale at Superstore recently, which made this salad so much easier to prepare. And one final note: my mandoline, which I got super cheap ($20) at Walmart remains the best purchase I’ve ever made for my kitchen, even if the stand broke around the second time I used it.

IMG_3759

Crispy Beet & Sweet Potato Hash

• raw beet, peeled
• sweet potato, peeled
• 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
• 1/2 tsp salt
• about 1/2 cup flour (maybe less?)
• oil for deep-frying

  1. IMG_3748Shred the beet and the sweet potato. I used my mandoline, with a blade attachment I’d never used before. Your food processor / chopper might have a similar setting. You want fine threads.
  2. Combine the flour with the salt and cayenne pepper. Toss with the shredded beet and sweet potato in a bowl. Allow the flour to coat all the strands. Remove any flour that doesn’t stick.
  3. Heat the oil in your deep fryer (or a wok) to around 365º. Drop the strands of beet & potato in batches. They should only take a minute or two to crisp up. Remove to a paper towel to absorb any excess oil and serve.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

