Skip to content

Nut-crusted halibut with vichyssoise

May 16, 2017

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, the halibut fishing season on PEI lasts a day. Less than that actually.

In the past I’ve stumbled upon a fishermen selling their catch out the back of a truck. You have to be lucky, or have figured out what spring day it is they go fishing. Both would help.

halibut

I was at Mike’s Queen Street Meat Market (located on University Avenue, of course) to pick up lobster and the person in front of me happened to be buying halibut, from this season, which was freshly frozen. It’s probably my favourite fish.

I’m not including the recipe here, but a plug for my new favourite cookbook, which Teresa got me for Christmas. I have too many cookbooks for the size of our kitchen, alas, so when I get a new one it has to be good.

nopi

NOPI is named after Yotam Ottolenghi’s restaurant of the same name in Soho. It has recipes that go beyond anything I’ve tried before. Things like seasoning the olive oil you’re using by roasting it with garlic and herbs.

Some of the fish recipes are especially exciting. This was my first time making vichyssoise. Teresa and I were both very happy with this meal, and I’ll make it again.

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

